Clean Cleaning

clean cleaning

As anyone who has lived with me will know, I’m a little bit of ‘a Monica’ when it comes to cleaning, i.e. I verge precariously on the OCD cliffs and could easily disappear down the hole- if I had a less busy social life or cared more about germs.

One Saturday morning, as I sprayed what must of been a half a bottle of bleach around our windowless and particularly filthy bathroom, I started to wonder what the chemicals were doing to my lungs or what the chemicals I had used to wash the kitchen floor was doing to our bear feet. I decided there and then to try and educate myself on whether it’s possible to conduct ‘clean cleaning’. Here’s what I discovered…

  • It turns out that companies aren’t actually required to put their ingredients on their cleaning products because their formulas are considered protected trade secrets so you can’t actually be 100% sure what you are spraying. I don’t know about you but that just seems wrong to me.
  • Obviously no one wants filthy dirty germy surfaces and toilets but according to my research it’s not only lot cheaper but also safer to clean your house with common, non-toxic household staples. Have a look yourself here

So, like my attempt at cleaning up my food intake and regular beauty products, I’ve also started trying to replace my ‘dirty’ cleaning products. Here’s some replacement ideas:

(I found the following safe cleaning products on Jess Ainscough’s – the ‘official’ Wellness Warrior- website)

Clearing drains

  • No more of that ridiculously toxic, ‘wear- safety- goggles- and- gloves-when- using’ crap, instead I pour down a handful of baking soda mixed with 1/2 cup of white vinegar when my drains annoy me. Trust me- this one works a treat!

Bathroom and kitchen surfaces: Homemade baking soda paste- again works like magic

  • Dissolve 4 tablespoons of baking soda in 4 tablespoons of water.
  • Use a soft cloth to rub the paste onto the surface to be cleaned.
  • Wipe off with a clean cloth and buff to shine.
  • This can also be used to clean pots and pans and the inside of your fridge.

Shower

  • Clean shower doors with white vinegar.
  • Spray or wipe on and leave for 10 minutes before rinsing off.
  • Sponge shower curtains with water and baking soda.

Toilet

  • Pour 150ml white vinegar into the toilet bowl and brush before flushing.
  • Disinfect your loo with a solution of 10 drops of tea tree oil in 115ml of water. Leave it in the bowl until the next flush.
  • Wipe the toilet seat with an all-purpose surface cleaner made from 600ml white vinegar, 300ml water and 20-30 drops eucalyptus oil.

 Drainage holes and taps

  • Rub a cut lemon to remove grease and lime scale
  • Remove lime scale from taps with a soft cloth dipped in white vinegar.
  • Scrub away rust and grime from around the taps with an old toothbrush coated with a mixture of 1 teaspoon of salt and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice.

More clean cleaning ideas can be found here 

However if all this talk of measuring and mixing makes you feel like a crazy scientist, there are of course clever people who make clean products for us to use instead…. Sooooo much easier!

These nice people include:

  • Ecover- which can be bought in Tesco/ Dunnes/ most Health Food shops and online

clean cleaning1

  • Or, if you’re feeling loaded, try Jessica Alba’s new website Honest on for size

clean cleaning2

Happy clean cleaning! 😉

2 responses to “Clean Cleaning

  1. elizabeth burns

    really interesting Eimear. do you hire yourself out 🙂

Leave a Reply

Top Wellness Cloud Posts

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,616 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

