My Wellness Cloud Bookshelf- Part 1

Books

I thought I would give you a lil lookie at the books I feel are guiding me on this here Wellness Journey on the off chance you will be inspired to pick one of them up.

Eat Pray Love: This is a funny one, I remember reading it a few years ago and only really enjoying or actually bothering to read the first section, where the author is prancing around Italy eating and drinking all she can get her hands on. I then kind of skipped over the section when she was in India on the 5 month long Ashram visit, feeling that I didn’t quite understand what she was discussing and then pretty much totally left out the last section on her trip to Bali, Indonesia and her search for God.

Then last month, after my month long struggle with meditation this book kind of fell off my bookshelf and I thought I’d give it another shot.

The universe works in really funny ways because this time around I kind of skipped through the first section as I wasn’t overly interested in all the food descriptions from Italy and found her tales of the Ashram, meditation, Gurus, shaktipat and the elusive tiny blue dot of energy to be absolutely fascinating. So much so that it reignited a new found passion and understanding of meditation in me and now I practice it twice a day (for only 10 minutes at a time but it’s still better than nothing!). I also love the way Elizabeth Gilbert writes, I found myself rereading whole paragraphs as her descriptions and imagery is so beautiful and profound.

The Power Of Now: Ehhhhh I have no idea why this book is even in the photo. I tried to read this a few times but each time I try to I can’t seem to get past chapter 2. It’s by the hugely famous Eckhart Tolle and he guides the reader through a journey to celebrate and live in the now instead of always reliving the past or planning the future (but you probably got that from the title!). I just found it to be a bit too ‘out there’ for me at the moment but I know I will get there some day.

Spirit Junkie: This is another one I bought months ago and again didn’t really connect with it initially. Then about 2 months ago I was sick from work and suddenly I was hit with the urge to read it. I ended up gobbling the majority of it up in one day!

This book introduces us to the ‘ego’ (or as I call it our ‘negative DJ’s’) that asshole who sits in our head and spends their time telling us how silly/ ugly/ useless/ unimportant/ unloved/ unpopular/ fat/ spotty/ stupid we are or reminds us of past failures and shows us scary images of us in the future.

This book helps the reader shine a light on this ‘Negative DJ’ and gives you the tools to deal with them in a positive and constructive way.

I really enjoyed Gabrielle’s book and now feel I have the knowledge and power to recognise when my ‘Negative DJ’ is talking and how to quieten her down.

150870656237458251_QpJbt8vU_f

In summary I think when it comes to these types of books there’s no point in pushing yourself into reading them, if you are supposed to read them it will be an easy and enjoyable experience, if not, it won’t. Simples. Without wanting to sound too ‘new agey’ I’d recommend having a look around the spiritual/ self help sections of your book shop and library and seeing if anything in particular ‘talks’ to you as that’s the book for you in this moment in time.

Leave a Reply

Top Wellness Cloud Posts

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,317 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

