Raw Review

natashalogo

If you’d have told me this time last year I’d be going to a raw food class 12 months later, and enjoying it I’d of laughed in your face and told you to lay off the booze… But that’s exactly what happened last weekend.

I came across ‘Natasha’s Living Food’ at the Mind Body Spirit event in the RDS and was blown away when the nice man behind the counter explained that everything Natasha and the team make are raw… everything, including their soups, pizzas, cakes, brownies and sushi. AND not only are they raw they are also wheat, dairy, egg and gluten free! This blew my mind, so I was 1st in line for her ‘cookery’ course last weekend.

So what is ‘Raw/ Living Food’?

Eh, it’s food that isn’t cooked…  Duh.

Ok smarty-pants, well why is it good for us?

Raw foods contain live enzymes that aid digestion, which activate as they are consumed. Once a food is heated above 118 F the enzymes begin to die, and destroys nutrients, minerals, amino acids and vitamins, and alters the natural metabolic structure of the food. So when you eat a food in it’s raw form you’re getting the very best from it.

Raw food also promotes an alkaline gut (as opposed to an acidic one) which boosts our immune system, lowers inflammation and reduces our chances of getting sick.

Sounds good. So what did Natasha make?!

  1. We started off easily with a refreshing and cleansing smoothie made with lemons, coconut water, pineapple and a sprinkle of Maca. As someone who’s only arriving at this super food party I was fascinated to hear how the body uses Maca for energy, stamina and as a hormone stabilisation. It’s defo on my shopping list.
  2. Natasha showed us how to make homemade almond milk (goodbye store bought crap), with which she made a delish ‘chocolate milkshake’ with cacao and cinnamon. Mmmmmm 🙂
  3. Then we moved onto sprouting and fermented foods and how they can give our gut an extra helping hand. Again this was all brand new to me so I lapped it up. Natasha is a hive of knowledge on nutrition and her enthusiasm is infectious. You feel healthier just listening to her.
  4. Then we had a spicy green soup– yes, a RAW soup, made on miso, spinach, coriander, coconut, Thai spices all blended together and heated with some hot water. Served sprinkled with sprouts. Bleedin delish!
  5. Natasha then made a cake with a seaweed mousse! You’ll just have to take my word for it that this was also scrumy
  6. We then had a late lunch of pizza and salad. But not any old pizza- this was a pizza with a buckwheat, flaxseed and courgette base, the cheese made of cashews, with an olive tapenade and tomatoy/ garlicy topping. Again the flavours worked really well together and I wolfed down the lot, not missing mozzarella for a minute.

All in all it was a great day and once this hectic week is over I can’t wait to get testing the recipes out myself!

Here’s a few pics of what we ate (with thanks to Viorica Vesa- another raw food enthusiast!)

66884_10201012363172882_795568325_n 427815_10201012370733071_1952015955_n 733914_10151546713756492_1211348519_nphoto (4)

Magic spiralina

2 responses to “Raw Review

  1. Naoise

    Great post Eimear. I’m so glad I went along on Saturday, thanks for introducing me to raw food.I have my lentils sprouting, homemade coconut milk in the fridge, made the smoothie (which I have in the freezer to make a sorbet) and found this simple recipe and have just made it
    http://www.therawtarian.com/raw-lemon-bars-recipe?page=2

    Who would have thought raw food could be so tasty! I don’t think I’ve been this motivated about anything in a while. Must be all the feel good food I’m eating!

  2. Thanks Naoise, ’twas a fun little adventure we went on alright! Mmmmmm, lemon sorbet sounds only delish!

Leave a Reply

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,614 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

