A Breakie Revamp

breakfast1

I had always thought I was bleedin deadly steering clear of stodgy toast and jam or sugar filled cereals in the mornings and relying on a warm bowl of porridge to see me though until lunchtime. That was until this month when I started to educate myself on sugar (more on that here).

I’ll write more about sugar in a bit but for now let’s just say that this stuff is toxic, it  promotes inflammation in the body which results in an acidic gut which results in disease and sickness and even death (…that escalated quickly!)

As I said, I usually have a bowl of porridge on full fat milk each morning. Once out of the microwave I’d drizzle the mixture with honey, chop up a banana and then sprinkle either some chia seeds or some linseed mixture on top.

While eating this mixture one morning I decided to do a bit of research to see what the sugar content was. Well holy flippen hell, the results nearly made me fall off my chair…

The sugar content of my old breakie stood at about 35% of my total sugar recommended daily allowance!!

And here I thought I was being healthy (by the by, I do realise there’s other nutritional benefits that come from the milk, banana and linseed but just let me hate on sugar right now).

This discovery, along with the fact that I’m suffering from a bad case of adult acne lately (which I’ve heard can be linked to gut health and sneaky food intolerances), was the reason I’ve decided to change up my breakie- for the first time since I was in college.

My new breakie of choice are the superfood Chia Seed (which I’ve talked about before) on unsweetened almond or coconut milk, with cinnamon and, if I’m feeling mad, a chopped up banana or some berries. Tis only delish!

breakfast

Here’s the method:

  • Mix 3 table spoons of chia seeds in 1 cup of almond milk or coconut milk, along with a sprinkle of cinnamon
  • Cover and soak in the fridge over night (this makes the chia seeds even easier for the gut to digest)
  • Eat in the morning with a chopped up banana or some berries!
Leave a Reply

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,614 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

