Almond Milk + Green Smoothies

Almond-milk

I first came across almond milk when I was trying to increase my veggie intake by sneaking leafy greens into my smoothies. Every recipe I looked at recommended removing the sugary fruit juices as the base and replacing it with either coconut water or almond milk (if you’re interested in reading more on my battle with removing sugar from my diet have a lookie here)

I did some research and it turns out almond milk is not only high in a number of vitamins and minerals (including vitamin E, calcium, manganese, magnesium, phosphorous, potassium, iron, fiber and zinc) but it is also low in calories, and is cholesterol and saturated fat free. Almond milk is also lactose, gluten and casein free… Now that’s a hell of a lot better then a sugary fruit drink in my books!

Almond milk can be bought in most health food shops (and along the health food section in some supermarkets), just make sure you pick up the carton with no added sugar or agave (it tastes just as good without, I promise).  I use the Eco Mil brand.

almond milk

Once you’ve picked some up, it’s time to start playing with some green smoothie recipes! Note: I’ve had some painfully horrendous Green Smoothies in my time (here‘s a review of my first ghastly attempt), but this is my favorite, an ‘introductory’ green smoothie if you will!

Remember the mantra: Green = Good!

Green Smoothie

  • 1 banana
  • 3 strawberries (optional)
  • 1 handful of baby spinach
  • A thumb length of pealed cucumber
  • ½ cup of almond milk
  • Chia Seeds- full of energy and fiber
  • 1 teaspoon of Maca- I’ve writen more about this stuff here, it’s totally magic
  • 1 teaspoon of Cacao- bursting with antioxidants/ high in a number of essential minerals
  • 1 teaspoon of Spirulina- great for energy/ weight loss/ veggie protein/ iron and a host of other nutritional benefits. But be warned, it’s pretty yucky and therefore should be used with caution
Leave a Reply

Top Wellness Cloud Posts

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,317 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

