Sneaky Synthetic Supplements

supplimentsBleedin heck, they’ve gone and fooled me again.

I’ve been taking a Multivitamin for months now, each day gulping down a little pale pink tablet, feeling all smug with the thought that I’m getting all ’23 essential vitamins and minerals’ in one go. Then my wellness bubble went and spectacularly burst, splattering against the wall and sliding down into a pool of creepy synthetics.

The reason for this was I’ve recently read how not all multivitamins are created equal and the majority of store-bought supplements are made up mostly of synthetic ingredients, which can do more harm than good. What’s the problem you ask? Basically synthetic versions of vitamins are created in test tubes and contain chemical compounds that do not occur in nature.

I checked, and each and bleedin everyone of the following ‘Synthetic Vitamins to Avoid appeared on the ingredient list of my empty ‘Sanatogen A-Z Complete Multivitamin’ bottle! Gurrrr.

  • Vitamin A: Acetate and Palmitate
  • Vitamin B1 (Thiamine): Thiamine Mononitrate, Thiamine Hydrochloride
  • Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin): Riboflavin
  • Pantothenic Acid: Calcium D-Pantothenate
  • Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine): Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Vitamin B12: Cobalamin
  • PABA (Para-aminobenzoic Acid): Aminobenzoic Acid
  • Folic Acid: Pteroylglutamic Acid
  • Choline: Choline Chloride, Choline Bitartrate
  • Biotin: d-Biotin
  • Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid): Ascorbic Acid
  • Vitamin D: Irradiated Ergosteral, Calciferol
  • Vitamin E: dl-alpha tocopherol, dl-alpha tocopherol acetate or succinate

I was majorly peeved when I learnt all this as one of the main themes of my ‘wellness journey’ is to stay away from adding any man-made chemicals into my system- and then I go and take a pill chock-a-block full of them?! I mean I’m taking a multivitamin to nourish my system, not pump it with synthetics! 😦 But now that I was more aware I wanted a natural multivitamin, stat.

So my investigation to find a natural multivitamin available here in Ireland began. I started in the place most modern day ‘investigations’ begin and googled high and low, to no avail. I then asked John, the owner of my favourite Organic Shop ‘Eco Logic’ what he thought and he recommended the good people of the Hobsack, Swan Centre, Rathmines.

thehobsack

A very knowledgeable lady in there recommended Terra Nova’s Living Multinutrient Complex (a bottle of 50 cost €15.99). This still isn’t 100% clean of synthetics but is a great improvement on what else is available out there, I was also impressed with the natural ingredient list (including green tea, kale, watercress, turmeric, acai berry etc.).

suppliments4

I left the Hob Sack with my new multivitamin, Vitamin D spray (for himself) and a yummy, freshly made beetroot, carrot and ginger juice, enveloped again in my happy Wellness Bubble.

And so my hunt for a 100% clean multivitamin continues, but once I’ve found one I’ll report back!

2 responses to “Sneaky Synthetic Supplements

  1. Naoise

    Its like you were reading my mind today when you put up this post as I was talking to a nurse colleague earlier about lacking energy and needing a boost so she recommend that I go on a multi vitamin for about a month just to give my system a bit of a kick start for spring. I’ll pay more attention to what I am buying now. Thanks!

  2. I was reading your mind Naoise… I’ve got a little monitor in there 😉 Let me know how you get on with your supplement selection wont you? Oh and I’m going to do a review of Omega 3 supplements soon, you may want to take that too.

Leave a Reply

Top Wellness Cloud Posts

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,317 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

