Time for Tea

tea1

I’ve always loved tea. I’m one of those people who believes that a cup of tea can solve any problem. I even presented a School Talent Show back in my Secondary School as Mrs Doyle, the iconic tea pusher from Father Ted! Therefore it shocks even me to admit I haven’t drank a cup of regular tea for over 6 months (bar a few cups when visiting friend’s houses).

This is mainly due to two things:
A) As per my ‘Belly First’ post, I’m trying to cut caffeine out of my system, due to it messing with hormones, it getting in the way of your system absorpting essential minerals and vitamins from food into our systems (iron, magnesium, zinc and B vitamins) and it playing havoc with the immune system. Also I was drinking a lot, too much, between 5 – 7 cups of tea/ coffee a day!

B) I’ve whole heartedly embraced a whole new world of herbal tea.

Herbal tea fascinates me, mainly due to it’s sheer efficiency. Side note: I think I may have been a German in a past life due to my love of punctuality and the fact I can’t stand time wasting and inefficiency (German people are like that right? Or is that a terrible generalisation?!). Anyways, bringing this back to tea, I enjoy the fact that when I’m sitting drinking a cup of herbal tea it’s not just providing comfort and warmth but it’s also working some magic on my insides.

Here’s a list of my favourite herbal teas and the efficient magic they work as you sip:
Green Tea: aids digestion, speeds up your metabolism, boosts your immune system, high in antioxidants, reduce abdominal fat, detox the organs from harmful imbalances

Dandelion Tea: It eases congestion of the liver, it helps to purify the bladder and kidneys, aids digestion, it eases bloating, contains calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, potassium, vitamins B and C

Camomile Tea: It eases troubled and anxious bodies and minds. It can also help with stomach problems such as menstrual cramps, stomach flu, and ulcers. It has also been proven as a sleeing aid.

Peppermint Tea: Peppermint is a great digestive aid after a large meal. It helps to relieve tension and bloating. It also speeds up the detoxification process (aka a hangover)

Nettle Tea: This is a great one for detoxifying the liver. It’s also high in iron, which makes it an excellent ‘blood-builder’ and is also known to ‘get you regular’

Why not give one of them a try the next time you put the kettle on? In the words of Mrs Doyle, ‘Ahhhh go on, go on, go on, go on… GO ON!’

tea3

Leave a Reply

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,614 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

