Overcoming ‘Health Food Store Dread’

healthfoodshop3

When I first started venturing in to Health Food Stores (HFS) I found them very daunting and intimidating. Everyone around me looked so focused and knowledgeable and I’d be there, floating from one shelf to the next with my vacant expression, trying to work out what everything is. Then I’d end up panicking that I’ve been in the shop too long and have started to appear a bit ‘shaddy’. So I’d pay for something totally random and leg it.

My recommendations for overcoming this initial ‘HFS Dread’ are:

  1. Make a list of what you want. Some recommended products:
  • Any Fruit/ Veg from the ‘Dirty Dozen’ list
  • Almond milk (with no added sugar)to have with smoothies and morning porridge
  • Flaxseed
  • Brown rice
  • Organic Quinoa
  • Organic beans (chickpeas/ chilli beans)
  • Organic tampons (The reason behind this is shocking, I’ll fill you in on it soon)
  • Organic lentils for adding to soups and curries
  • Coconut oil, cold pressed and organic
  • Spirlina- I usually get the powder, which I use (very sparingly in smoothies, due to it’s rather potent flavour!).
  • A selection of tea (green, peppermint, camomile, dandelion)
  • Supplements (a multivitamin and Omega 3)
  1. Go with the flow: I once heard that when in the fruit/ veggie aisle of your supermarket you should let your senses ‘guide’ you and apparently your body picks out the items it’s craving/ deficient in… I’m told this theory doesn’t transfer to clothes stores unfortunately. I have however transferred this across to HFS. I’ve decided to embrace the ‘random purchase habit’ and trust my body knows what it’s doing, as in the past it’s lead me to incredible new things like dandelion tea, raw honey, caco nibs, kale and almond butter.
  2. Use Google and research the sh@t of everything before you venture in (e.g. ‘how to pronounce quinoa’!!)
  3. Ask for help- in my experience most HFS staff are only dying to help.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Top Wellness Cloud Posts

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,317 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

