Kale Crisps

Kale2

I bought myself some Organic Kale yesterday when in The Organic Supermarket, on Blackrock Main Street. I’ve heard Kale crisps (or as the yanks call them ‘Kale Chips’) mentioned in passing and decided to try them out as a healthy alternative to nibble on when watching TV last night.

The verdict? Holy mother of God, they were officially amazeballs! They taste like you’re eating yummy salty crisps while in fact you’re actually eating  a leafy green with all of the following benefits: Kale is low in calories, has zero fat, is high in iron, vitamin C, calcium and antioxidants… I’m pretty sure Mr Tayto Man can’t say that!

Here’s what I did to make mine:

  • Washed and dried the kale
  • Cut the leaves from the stems (cut them good and chunky as they really shrink down in the oven)
  • Sprinkled the leaves with some olive oil and soya sauce (for the salty effect)
  • Stick in a preheated oven at 140 degrees Celsius for approx 20 minutes

Other Kale variations can be found here.

kale3

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Kale Crisps

  1. naoise

    I have been dying to try the kale crisps and went to the farmers market in Howth last week looking for kale but the organic veggie people said it is now out of season 😦 will defo try them when it’s back in season again.

  2. Dang it! I literally only got a big bag of it last week!! I’ll keep my eye out and let you know if I see anything.

  3. Naoise

    finally got to try them this evening as I came across a bag of kale in m&s. They are really good. Will tey a different flavour next time. Thanks emo 🙂

  4. Oh goodie!! I’m delighted you liked them! Thanks for the heads up on M&S, I’ll have to nip there soon as I cant seem to find kale anywhere these days either 😦

Leave a Reply

The Wellness Cloud Views

  • 11,614 views

Please click to follow The Wellness Cloud and receive notifications of new posts by email

Join 71 other followers

